# TRAVERSE CITY LIGHT AND POWER BOARD

Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting Held at 5:15 p.m., Commission Chambers, Governmental Center Tuesday, May 10, 2022

**Board Members Present:** Paul Heiberger – Chairperson, Elysha Davila – Vice-Chairperson, John

Taylor - Board Member, Ross Hammersley – Board Member, Maura Brennan – Board Member, Amy Shamroe – Board Member & City

Commissioner

**Board Members Absent:** Tim Werner, Board Member & City Commissioner

Ex Officio Member

**Present:** 

Marty Colburn, City Manager

**Staff Present:** Brandie Ekren – Executive Director, Karla Myers-Beman – Controller,

Jenn St. Amour – Administrative Assistant, Kelli Schroeder – Mgr. of Human Resources & Communications, Tony Chartrand – Supervisory

Engineer, Daren Dixon – Operations Manager, Jacob Hardy –

Sustainability & Key Accounts Mgr., Scott Menhart – Chief Information

**Technology Officer** 

#### **Pledge of Allegiance**

#### a. **ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING**

The meeting was called to order at 5:15 by Secretary Brandie Ekren.

Secretary Brandie Ekren opened the floor to nominations for Chairperson of the Light and Power Board.

Amy Shamroe moved to appoint Paul Heiberger. Maura Brennan seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe, Paul

Heiberger, John Taylor, and Brandie Ekren

**Absent:** None

Carried 7 to 0.

Brandie Ekren turned the meeting over to Chairperson Heiberger.

Chairperson Heiberger opened the floor to nominations for Vice-Chairperson of the Light and Power Board.

Ross Hammersley moved to appoint Elysha Davila as Vice Chairperson. Amy Shamroe seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe, Paul

Heiberger, John Taylor, and Brandie Ekren

**Absent:** None

Carried 7 to 0.

Chairperson Heiberger recommended Brandie Ekren be reappointed Secretary for the Light & Power Board.

Ross Hammersley moved that Brandie Ekren serve as Secretary to the Light & Power Board. John Taylor seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe, Paul

Heiberger, John Taylor, and Brandie Ekren

**Absent:** None

Carried 7 to 0.

Chairperson Heiberger closed the floor to nominations.

Chairperson Heiberger asked for volunteers to serve on the HR Ad Hoc Committee. Taylor, Hammersley, and Shamroe volunteered, with Davila as an alternate.

#### 1. Roll Call

## 2. <u>Disclosure of Recusal</u>

None.

#### 3. Consent Calendar

- a. Approval of Agenda
- b. Consideration of approving minutes of the Regular meeting of April 12, 2022. (Approval recommended)
  - that the minutes of the Regular meeting of April 12, 2022, be approved.
- c. Consideration of approving adoption of the MERS 457 Deferred Compensation Plan. (Approval recommended) (Schroeder)
  - that the Board approves the Resolution and Participation Agreement adopting the MERS 457 Deferred Compensation Plan and authorizes the Executive Director to sign.
- d. Consideration of approving a purchase order for underground wire. (Approval recommended) (Myers-Beman)

that the Board authorizes a purchase order to be issued to Resco in the amount of \$41,550.00, more or less, for the purchase of 3,000' of underground #500 quad wire.

Ross Hammersley moved that as recommended, the Consent Calendar portion of the agenda be approved. Amy Shamroe seconded the motion.

**Yes:** Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe,

Paul Heiberger, John Taylor, and Brandie Ekren

**Absent:** None

Carried 7 to 0.

#### 4. Unfinished Business

a. Consideration of approving an amended Community Investment Fund Policy.

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Brandie Ekren, Executive Director

Ross Hammersley moved that the Board adopts the Community Investment Fund policy provisions and guidelines as amended and submits to the City Commission for approval. John Taylor seconded the motion.

**Yes:** Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe,

Paul Heiberger, John Taylor, and Brandie Ekren

**Absent:** None

Carried 7 to 0.

Amy Shamroe moved that the following Board Members be appointed to the Community Investment Fund Ad Hoc Committee; Elysha Davila, John Taylor, and Tim Werner. Ross Hammersley seconded the motion.

**Yes:** Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe,

Paul Heiberger, John Taylor, and Brandie Ekren

**Absent:** None

Carried 7 to 0.

b. Consideration of approving a Sustainability Ad Hoc Committee.

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Brandie Ekren, Executive Director

Amy Shamroe moved that the Board approve the creation of the Sustainability Ad Hoc Committee for the purpose of creating and evaluating a Sustainability program that encompasses energy waste reduction and decarbonization and that the following Board

members be appointed to the Sustainability Ad Hoc Committee; Paul Heiberger, John Taylor, and Maura Brennan.

Ross Hammersley seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe,

Paul Heiberger, John Taylor, and Brandie Ekren

**Absent:** None

Carried 7 to 0.

### 5. New Business

a. Consideration of scheduling a Public hearing at the June 28, 2022, Regular meeting for an electric rate increase to be effective August 1, 2022.

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Karla Myers-Beman, Controller

Amy Shamroe moved that the Board approves the rate adjustment and authorizes the Secretary to set a Public Hearing for the August 1, 2022, rate increases to be held at the June 28, 2022, Regular meeting; and further that a notice of the Public hearing be posted on the utility's website and placed in the Traverse City Record Eagle. Ross Hammersley seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe,

Paul Heiberger, John Taylor, and Brandie Ekren

**Absent:** None

Carried 7 to 0.

John Taylor left the meeting at 6:15 p.m.

#### 6. Reports and Communications

a. From Legal.

None.

#### b. From Staff.

1. Update on Climate Action Plan fka Integrated Resource Plan

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Brandie Ekren, Executive Director

2. Update on Campbell Decommissioning

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Brandie Ekren, Executive Director

Amy Shamroe left the meeting at 6:25 p.m.

3. Barlow to Parsons Transmission Line Tree Trimming Update

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Tony Chartrand, Engineer Supervisor

#### c. From Board.

Chairperson Heiberger announced the June TCL&P Regular meeting would take place on the  $28^{\text{th}}$  of the month.

# 7. Public Comment

a. General Public Comment

# 8. Adjournment

There being no objection, Chairperson Heiberger adjourned the meeting at 6:46 p.m.

Brandie Ekren

Brandie Ekren, Secretary LIGHT & POWER BOARD