TRAVERSE CITY LIGHT AND POWER BOARD

Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting Held at 5:15 p.m., Commission Chambers, Governmental Center Tuesday, September 13, 2022

Board Members Present: Paul Heiberger – Chairperson, Elysha Davila – Vice-Chairperson, John

Taylor – Board Member, Ross Hammersley – Board Member, Maura Brennan – Board Member, Amy Shamroe – Board Member & City Commissioner, Tim Werner – Board Member & City Commissioner

Board Members Absent: None

Ex Officio Member

Present:

Marty Colburn, City Manager

Staff Present: Brandie Ekren - Executive Director, Jenn St. Amour – Executive

Assistant, Jacob Hardy – Sustainability & Key Accounts Mgr., Karla Myers-Beman – Chief Financial Officer, Kelli Schroeder – Customer & Employee Relations Manager, Scott Menhart – Chief Information Technology Officer, Tony Chartrand – Supervisory Engineer, Daren

Dixon – Operations Manager

1. Roll Call

2. Disclosure of Recusal

None.

3. Consent Calendar

- a. Approval of Agenda
- b. Consideration of approving minutes of the Regular meeting of August 9, 2022. (Approval recommended)

that the minutes of the Regular meeting of August 9, 2022, be approved.

c. Consideration of approving a Resolution appointing Commissioners to the Michigan Public Power Agency. (Approval recommended) (Ekren)

that the Board approves the Resolution appointing Commissioners to the Michigan Public Power Agency effective immediately.

Ross Hammersley moved that as recommended, the Consent Calendar portion of the agenda be approved, as amended. Elysha Davila seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe,

Tim Werner, Paul Heiberger, and John Taylor

Absent: None

Carried 7 to 0.

4. Unfinished Business

a. CAP Update.

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Brandie Ekren, Executive Director Jacob Hardy, Sustainability & Key Accounts Mgr. Karla Myers-Beman, Chief Financial Officer

b. Consideration of approving a Consultant Agreement with 5 Lakes Energy for the Climate Action Plan Industry Set #2 and Integrated Resource Planning.

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Brandie Ekren, Executive Director

John Taylor moved that the Board authorizes the Chairman and Secretary to execute a Consultant Agreement with Five Lakes Energy for the Climate Action Plan Subset #2 Project in the amount of \$61,880.00, more or less, subject to review as to substance by the Executive Director and as to form by General Counsel and that the Board authorizes the Chairman and Secretary to execute a Consultant Agreement with Five Lakes Energy for the Climate Action Plan Integrated Resource Plan Project in the amount of \$76,100 plus \$490 for each additional IRP scenarios and sensitivities for a total amount of not to exceed in the amount of \$86,100, subject to review as to substance by the Executive Director and as to form by General Counsel. Amy Shamroe seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe,

Tim Werner, Paul Heiberger, and John Taylor

Absent: None

Carried 7 to 0.

5. New Business

a. Closed Session discussion pertaining to energy contracts. (5 votes required)

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Brandie Ekren, Executive Director

Ross Hammersley moved that the Board enter into closed session following public comment as permitted by State of Michigan public laws authorizing the closed session are MCL 15.268 (1) (h) and MCL 460.833a (1)(a), (b) and (c). Amy Shamroe seconded the motion.

Roll Call: Hammersley, Brennan, Shamroe, Taylor, Werner, Davila, Heiberger Carried 7 to 0.

Board entered into closed session at 5:57p.m. Board returned from closed session at 7:02p.m.

6. Reports and Communications

a. From Legal.

None.

b. From Staff.

None.

c. From Board.

Tim Werner and John Taylor recused themselves from the Community Investment Fund Ad Hoc Committee's next meeting due to conflict of interest. Amy Shamroe, Ross Hammersley, and Maura Brennan volunteered to be the alternate replacements for the upcoming meeting on Friday, September 30th.

Tim Werner moved that Maura Brennan, Ross Hammersley, and Mayor Pro Tem Amy Shamroe be appointed as alternates to the Community Investment Fund Ad Hoc Committee. Ross Hammersley seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Elysha Davila, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe,

Tim Werner, Paul Heiberger, and John Taylor

Absent: None

Carried 7 to 0.

7. Public Comment

a. General Public Comment

No one from the Public addressed the Board.

8. Adjournment

There being no objection, Chairperson Heiberger declared the meeting adjourned at 7:05p.m.

Brandie Ekren

Brandie Ekren, Secretary
LIGHT AND POWER BOARD