TRAVERSE CITY LIGHT AND POWER BOARD

Minutes of the Special Meeting Held at 5:15 p.m., Commission Chambers, Governmental Center Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Board Members Present: Maura Brennan, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe, Tim Werner, Paul

Heiberger, John Taylor

Board Members Absent: Elysha Davila

Ex Officio Member: Marty Colburn, City Manager

Others: Daren Dixon, Karla Myers-Beman, Kelli Schroeder, Tony Chartrand, Jacob

Hardy, Karrie Zeits (General Counsel)

1. Roll Call

2. <u>Disclosure of Recusal</u>

Ross Hammersley recused himself from item 5 (b).

3. Consent Calendar

a. Approval of Agenda

Ross Hammersley moved that as recommended, the Consent Calendar portion of the Agenda be approved. John Taylor seconded the motion.

Yes: Ross Hammersley, John Taylor, Maura Brennan, Amy Shamroe, Tim

Werner, and Paul Heiberger

Absent: Elysha Davila

Carried 6 to 0.

4. <u>Unfinished Business</u>

- a. ITEM MOVED FOLLOWING GENERAL PUBLIC COMMENT.
- b. Consideration of approving the Executive Director Position Specification.

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Kelli Schroeder, Mgr. of Human Resources & Communications Mark Ciolek, Preng & Associates, Partner, Utilities & Power Practice Leader Gary Carlson, Preng & Associates, Engineering & Construction Practice Leader Ross Hammersley moved that the Board approves the Position Specification as proposed and amended. Amy Shamroe seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe, Tim Werner, Paul

Heiberger, and John Taylor

Absent: Elysha Davila

Carried 6 to 0.

5. New Business

a. Consideration of declaring various items surplus.

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Daren Dixon, Operations Manager

Amy Shamroe moved that the Board authorizes declaring the operations equipment presented as surplus and the subsequent sale of these at auction. Ross Hammersley seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe, Tim Werner, Paul

Heiberger, and John Taylor

Absent: Elysha Davila

Carried 6 to 0.

b. Consideration of approving an Ad Hoc Committee for the Community Investment Fund.

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Karla Myers-Beman, Interim Executive Director/Controller

Amy Shamroe moved that the TCL&P Board approve the creation of the Community Investment Fund Ad Hoc Committee for the purpose of reviewing and evaluating submissions and to determine if the requests should be moved forward to the Board for approval and that the following Board members be appointed to the Community Investment Fund Ad Hoc Committee: John Taylor, Tim Werner, and Amy Shamroe. Tim Werner seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe, Tim Werner, Paul

Heiberger, and John Taylor

Absent: Elysha Davila

Carried 6 to 0.

6. Reports and Communications

a. From Legal.

None.

b. From Staff.

1. Report on Utility Billing Issue

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Karla Myers-Beman, Interim Executive Director/Controller

c. From Board.

1. Amy Shamroe spoke regarding an October 25th City Commission Meeting item that passed acknowledging staff appreciation between the week of Christmas and New Year's granting employees additional time off.

7. Public Comment

a. General Public Comment

None.

b. Consideration of a written attorney-client communication regarding MPSC Case No. U-21090.

The following individuals addressed the Board:

Karrie Zeits, General Counsel

Amy Shamroe moved that the Board withdraw entering into closed session following General Public Comment to discuss a written attorney-client communication on legal rights and responsibilities regarding MPSC Case No. U-21090, which is exempt from disclosure by state statute, and to waive the attorney-client privilege. Ross Hammersley seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe, Tim Werner,

Paul Heiberger, and John Taylor

Absent: Elysha Davila

Carried 6 to 0.

Amy Shamroe moved that the TCL&P Board direct staff to enter into MPSC Public Comment the TCL&P Resolution passed at the Regular Meeting of June 8, 2021. John Taylor seconded the motion.

Yes: Maura Brennan, Ross Hammersley, Amy Shamroe, Tim Werner,

Paul Heiberger, and John Taylor

Absent: Elysha Davila

Carried 6 to 0.

8. Adjournment

There being no objection, Chairperson Heiberger adjourned the meeting at 6:10 p.m.

Karla Myers-Beman

Karla Myers-Beman, Secretary LIGHT AND POWER BOARD